скоро…

just another blog

ZoneAlarm Pro, Trend Micro PC-Cillin Internet Security, Spybot – Search & Destroy, Webroot Spy Sweeper can work together and are compatible.

Posted by twoace on September 13, 2007

ZoneAlarm Pro 7.0.362.000
Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 2007 (Program Version 15.30.1239) / 2006
Webroot Spy Sweeper 5.5.7 (build 48)
Spybot – Search & Destroy 1.4

All those program can work together “edited: on my computer (Windows XP Professional SP2)” and are compatible.

The only thing is it’s better to install Spybot – S&D after PC-cillin 2007. But it doesn’t matter for PC-cillin 2006. May refer to http://esupport.trendmicro.com/support/viewxml.do?ContentID=EN-1033903 .

Short configuration:

  • PC-cillin firewall is disabled
  • PC-cillin Mail Monitor is on
  • Spybot S&D Tea timer is not installed
  • ZoneAlarm Anti-virus monitor is off
  • ZoneAlarm E-mail Protection is off
  • Webroot Spy Sweeper almost all shields are on (13 shields)

Once I decided to try (before migrate) Kaspersky Anti Virus (KAV). I experienced that KAV is very slow and I always use firefox which Kaspersky have problem with it. And I feel that it’s kinda conflict with ZoneAlarm too. KAV is a great anti virus (and also according to review) and cheaper than PC-cillin, but I cannot lost computer performance because of KAV.
So I decided to move back to PC-cillin 🙂 and live happily ever after…. I hope PC-cillin will have good price offer later on (or soon!).

2 Responses to “ZoneAlarm Pro, Trend Micro PC-Cillin Internet Security, Spybot – Search & Destroy, Webroot Spy Sweeper can work together and are compatible.”

  1. jtberk2 said

    I run vista and use Trend Micro PC Cillin and have had no problems with it until I installed Webroot Spy Sweeper. Spy Sweeper works fine, but when I try to do a scan with PC Cillin, PC Cillin takes forever. So far I’ve let it scan for over 15 hours and it still has not completed. Any idea why this happens?

  2. twoace said

    Unfortunately, my system is Windows XP Professional. I should edit my blog with OS information. Btw, do you have Spybot – S&D installed in your computer? I don’t have courage to migrate to Vista currently. 🙂 Still have more preparation.

Leave a Reply

 
