скоро…

just another blog

Run explorer as other user

Posted by twoace on July 25, 2007

I got tired everytime I wanted to delete files which were not belong to my current user.
I had to switch user and then did delete. Now not anymore… 🙂

Finally, I found in internet how to run explorer as other user (in this example: administrator).
Run command prompt, and then run following command @ prompt:
runas /user:<username> “explorer /separate”

Change username to which user you want to run as.
Voila! I am happy now.
Internet really helps very much!

Btw, this kind of thing can also be helped with the new Total Commande. It will ask whether we want to delete as administrator!

3 Responses to “Run explorer as other user”

  1. norman1nz said

    you need to configure your admin account to start a new process when you run the above. How here:
    http://freesourcecodes.tripod.com/blog/index.blog?entry_id=1205757

  2. twoace said

    Hmmm… I don’t think it’s needed. It works on my 2 computers. May be it’s because of option “/separate”.
    Thank you for your comment!

  3. mike said

    Nice tip…I wish I read this a couple of hours ago.

Leave a Reply

 
